Take The 30×35 Holiday Challenge!

School is in wind down mode, on a crash course straight into finals. I think I may have already mentioned the month of October and half of November was a small hell, to say the least. The amount of exams and projects and assignments and readings and everything else under the sun was due. My Research Methods (RM) class allowed me to research whatever I want, all semester.  Obviously it has been all yoga, yoga, yoga.  My RM class also slightly prepared me for a term paper I just wrote for Physiology on the cardiovascular benefits on yoga. There is an abundant amount of scientific evidence proving that yoga is fantastic for the body for both the young and old (especially the old – more to come on this in a later post).

Anyway, all this got my gears going. The American College of Sports Medicine (ACSM), the American Heart Association (AHA) and the Center for Disease Control (CDC) all recommend moderate physical activity for at least 30 minutes/day, at least 3-times per week. I want to take that to the next level and challenge you all to perform some kind of physical activity every day for 30-minutes (or more if you prefer) starting tomorrow, November 28, through January 1 – 35 days total.30x35 Holiday Challenge

This 35 day Holiday Challenge will help us get through the holiday season on many levels.

  1. it will help us all to destress and relax;
  2. it will help burn some extra calories that we ingest through extra cocktails, desserts, snacks, etc.; and
  3. it will jump-start a healthy pattern to enter into the new year with.

I don’t care what physical activity you chose. It can be something different every day and it can be something as simple as walking briskly for 10 minutes, 3-times/day. Or putting on some good tunes and dancing around while cleaning the house (I know you all do it ;)). Of course, I will be practicing yoga, but it’s completely up to you, what works for you and what works for your body. But do it! Take it!

So who’s with me?? Tweet me @thefoodyogi, #30x35holidaychallenge, leave comments on the blog, Facebook me – let me know how you’re doing along the way. Extra points for sending pics! (kidding! No point system involved, but please send pictures if you want.) But my point is, get moving! And don’t do it for me or because I am making up this challenge.  Do it for yourself.

Ready…..set………go!

Join the Conversation!

