It has been way too long. Let’s catch up!

Hey old friends! Wow. What can I say…. Not much I suppose, except that it has been way too long since I wrote and I am pretty embarrassed. I love writing and I love hearing from you all. But so much has happened over the last 6 months. My life took off in whirlwind, and I was struggling to keep up with everything. All of that whirlwind landed me here, on the floor of a new apartment in Morningside Heights, NYC, wrapped up in a blanket with a warm cup of coffee on a stormy, post-Halloween November morning. So how did I end up here? I’ll try to recap as briefly as possible (but probably not so brief):

Last I wrote (let’s say, ahem, back in a month that rhymes with “noon”) I broke the news that I was accepted into Columbia University, Teacher’s College for an MS in Nutrition and Exercise Physiology. My acceptance was under the condition that I finish two prerequisite courses.  But it was already mid-summer session pretty much everywhere by that point.  So, after about two weeks of searching and pleading with random professors around the country, I found two courses (probably the only two) that began in July. I studied my brains out for the remaining 6 weeks of summer. Remember my post on student guilt? Yeah, that was me…again. There’s a pattern brewing in my life.

Anyway, our lease was up at the end of May in our lovely Park Slope, Brooklyn apartment so we decided to move. Mainly because our landlord kept increasing our rent to a point where it didn’t seem feasible anymore. Not to mention, at that point, I didn’t know where I would be going to school and I knew wherever I wound up, I wanted to live close-by. So, we packed up and settled at my parents for the summer while I studied.

Oh! I forgot to mention that Phil, my better half, quit his day job at the end of May and started working full-time with a business partner on their own company. (This was all simultaneous to my goings-on.) This new job has opened many doors and offered so many amazing opportunities to him. He has gotten to travel a lot too! I was lucky enough to take-part in some of his travelling this summer. We went to Niagara, Toronto and Muskoka in June and spent almost all of August in Charleston, South Carolina. The first two weeks of Charleston I was still deep into my classes so I had to hunker-down with blinders to my wanderlust. But once I finished, I got to fully enjoy all that Charleston has to offer. Phil and I really love the area (we may end up there someday). It is chock-full of history (which I totally geeked-out on). The people of Charleston really take pride in keeping their history and culture alive. One fantastic highlight: I took a tour with Bill from Oyster Point Tours and got the most in depth history of Charleston anyone could possibly imagine. If anyone goes to Charleston (which I highly suggest you do because Conde Nast voted it #1 city to visit in America) take a walking tour with Oyster Point. You will not be disappointed. And you’ll get some exercise. 🙂 Here are some photo highlights from the summer:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

When we left Charleston I had about a week before the Fall semester began and that also gave us a week to find an apartment, in NYC. …Yeah.  Anyone who has ever moved to, or within New York City knows what a  hellish, stressful time it can be and we braced ourselves for the worst. But in an extreme stroke of luck (which really seems to be on our side lately – “knock wood”) we lucked out and found a decent place right away and were able to move in the next day.  We (and Nimbus) now have a cozy new place to call home for the next few years.

Classes began and after two weeks I realized why everyone says grad school is hell. My mother recently sent me this post she found on Joanna Renteria’s blog “Grad School Barbie.” This pretty much sums up everything that is going on in my life right now – right down to the dark circles and spontaneous crying. Read it! It’s hilarious! But in all seriousness, I have been sick twice already. I have to say, this is a lesson learned. No matter how much I tell people to take care of themselves through nourishing food and loving/respecting their bodies, I need to take my own advice. School is important. Studying hard and getting good grades is all I aim for these days, but not at the expense of my own health.

So here I am. So much going on, so much craziness, but I love it. And I can’t wait to share some of the interesting nutrition topics I have learned about, but this post is already way too long. If you read this far, THANK YOU! I love you for sticking with me! 🙂 (It’s also time to go eat some yummy butternut squash soup I made yesterday for a small Halloween get-together.) I love you all and I hope you are all well. And thank you for stickin’ around.

4 thoughts on “It has been way too long. Let’s catch up!

Join the Conversation!

