CSA Week 1

CSA Week 1Look what I got!  Yesterday was the first pick-up of from Common Hands CSA at Brooklyn Boulders.  I’m so excited about all these green (and purple) goodies!

I took home:

  • Kale
  • Spinach
  • Purple turnips
  • Bibb lettuce
  • Broccoli raab
  • Scapes
  • Spotted trout mixed greens

I have to say, the lettuce was HUGE.  I have never seen a head of lettuce that large.  In the picture the lettuce is hiding behind the purple turnips and broccoli raab, but take my word for it; it could be used as a weight to work out with.  So awesome!!  (Oh, and the spinach is not pictured because I took it out immediately upon getting home and cooked some up with dinner.)

Phil and I are going to Pennsylvania for a few days starting tomorrow and taking all of this with us.  I am so excited to start cooking with these beauties!  I think purple turnips may be my challenge for the week.  Any good suggestions?  Otherwise, I hear scapes make a good pesto and should be great on some sandwiches.  Stay tuned for news of our travels, updates and good, healthy eating.

6 thoughts on “CSA Week 1

  1. Pingback: “Go confidently in the direction of your dreams…” | The Food Yogi

  2. Pingback: Get Your Morning Greens! | The Food Yogi

Join the Conversation!

