“I’ve come to suck your blood…” ;)

Blood donationsRecently I donated blood for the first time at my local church. Since it was my first time I was nervous but thankfully, it wasn’t so bad.  While I was lying there I couldn’t help but look at the needle in my arm and think, “I’ve come to suck your blood…” in that stereotypical Transylvanian vampire accent.  It made me laugh to myself and helped keep my mind at ease.  To dispel the nerves I tried a few deep breaths but I think that made the nurses nervous, thinking I was going to pass out.  My overall reaction was just a little woozy, subdued and tired.  A few hours after donating I developed a headache but the more I drank water, the better I felt.  Water is incredibly important when donating blood.  Being super hydrated and well fed before and after are essential in this case.

I have always thought about donating, just haven’t, and the first few weeks of this semester in Anatomy and Physiology focused on the blood and the heart.  After learning more about the blood and donating I decided to give it a try.  Not to mention, I don’t know what my blood type is so I’m eager to find out.  But anyway, if you’re interested in donating, here are a few interesting facts about the blood:

  • The human body has 5-6 liters of blood.  Not that I want to equate anything with soda, but that’s 2.5-3, 2 liter bottles of soda – I don’t know about you, but that actually puts the amount of blood we have into perspective
  • In one drop of blood, say about  a pin-prick-sized amount, there’s 5-6 million red blood cells
  • In that same drop of blood there is 5000-10,000 white blood cells
  • The majority of the blood is plasma which is 90-95% water
  • The lifespan of a red blood cell is 120 days
  • After their loss, red blood cells take 4-6 weeks to regenerate
  • Plasma takes about a day to regenerate

Donating blood is a nice way to help others in need.  It may not be for everyone but if you are brave enough, do it.  You can help save someone’s life.  Stay tuned for some more interesting facts about red blood cell production and foods to eat for healthy blood.

Happy Monday everyone! xo! 🙂

One thought on ““I’ve come to suck your blood…” ;)

  1. Pingback: Everything You’ve Ever Wanted To Know About Iron | The Food Yogi

Join the Conversation!

