Student Guilt – Why Does It Happen?

AAHH!  Hi everyone.  I’m alive.  Over the past few weeks I have had to put my nose to the grindstone (or whatever the expression is) to study for the GRE.  If you don’t know what the GRE is, it’s like the SAT for master’s students.  Though it doesn’t seem that certain grad programs rely heavily on them, it is still required as part of the application process for some schools.  I have been studying for the past 6 weeks but the last two have been the hardest.  As always, the guilt, stress and anxiety set in and I started to feel that any waking moment spent not studying would make me fail miserably.  I don’t know why I get like this, when a few distractions would be better for brain health anyway.  It’s something I really have to work on.  What do you all do when you need to/should take a break from something really important but feel guilty about doing so?  Am I just weird and this doesn’t happen to anyone else?  Anyway, I hope you’re all well and I will be writing more soon.  Leave a comment and let me know how you are.  xoxo!

8 thoughts on “Student Guilt – Why Does It Happen?

  1. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll do well 🙂
    Personally, if I don’t take regular breaks when studying I end up so frustrated and unable to retain much. Plus I find that when I step away from studying that’s when I find the solution or that’s when my brain remembers better. I’m one of those people that needs noise and people around to study though…
    Anyhow, maybe put a timer, and give yourself a “forced” break at regular intervals. You’ll feel more refreshed and study better

  2. Good luck with the exam!
    I completely understand what you mean about study guilt, I always experience it and it is by far the worst at the weekends. Part of me knows I need to take a break so I don’t go completely insane, but another part of me feels that if I take a break, I’m throwing a good grade at the weekend. I’ve heard of some people who simply work hard enough during the week so they don’t have to worry at the weekends. That doesn’t quite work for me. I’m still figuring out my perfect schedule. Good luck working on yours 🙂

  3. I experienced this “student guilt” you spoke of intensely!!!! My advice is tell yourself that it’s all in your head!! It is absolutely crucial that you allow yourself some time away from studying to relax and indulge your mind and self in other subjects or what have you. A refreshed mind is the best to work with. Also, immersing yourself too much in one subject makes your mind all fuzzy! What program/school are you applying for? Best of luck, Gara (gs10d@my.fsu.edu – i’d love to hear)

    • HI Gara! Thanks for the comment. I am realizing the importance of meditation during my study time. A break to literally clear the mind is fantastic. Hopefully soon I will have a happy-medium with studying and relaxing.

      I’m applying to masters nutrition programs at NYU, Columbia and Hunter College. I’m waiting to hear back from all. Please keep your fingers crossed for me!

  4. Pingback: Columbia University: Here I Come! | The Food Yogi

Join the Conversation!

