Post Hurricane Sandy

Hi everyone!  Saying that things have been crazy around here in NYC would be an understatement.  I have never seen anything like this.  No one who has lived in NY all their lives have ever seen anything like this.  There’s always the threat.  There’s usually flooding, especially down by the water, but never this bad, with this much destruction.  It’s incredible, in a scary sense to see the subway completely flooded; in some spots, track to ceiling.  But thankfully my neighborhood in Brooklyn and a few surrounding neighborhoods have been one of the few lucky ones that haven’t lost power.

My parents on Long Island do not have power.  They are on the south shore and did not flood, thankfully, but many places just a few minutes south of them did flood.  Including the beautiful golf course on the bay that my husband and I had our wedding reception at (pictured).  This place has a lot of sentimental value to us and to my parents as well.  Suffice it to say that this country club has been a part of our family since the 1970’s.  It’s sad so sad to see the course like this and apparently the club house is a disaster area.  All windows are blown out and furniture is battered and strewn about and that’s just the tip of the ice berg.  They rebuilt the land better than ever after Tropical Storm Irene so hopefully it will be fine and rebuilt again and the major concern will be rebuilding the club house.  Next season will be beautiful.

(that’s the clubhouse all the way in the back)

School has been cancelled for me all week.  Midterms were cancelled!  Woohoo!!  But they’re looming over my head and I should get back to studying.  My school was flooded, actually.  So we’ll have to see how that is going to work out.

I will have more to post but one thing at a time.  I have been very busy the past few weeks finishing up teacher training and studying for school and practicing yoga so I’ve gotten a bit behind with blogging.  But never fear!  I am here! 😉  Love to you all.

2 thoughts on “Post Hurricane Sandy

Join the Conversation!

