The Food Yogi’s Favorite Food Book

This weekend marked the first weekend of Strala’s Fall 2012 200+ Hour Ready-to-lead Training which is AWESOME and I am so excited to be part of, and working with such a wonderful group of inspiring people.  (This is also my Monday Strala Blog post in case you haven’t guessed already ;))

When I got the suggested book list I was so excited to see that one of my favorite food-related books was there. Michael Pollan’s Food Rules: An Eaters Manual with illustrations by Maira Kalman (you can also buy it through my Books page) is my go-to food guide when it comes to eating right. Not to mention, it’s a picture book for adults! Maira Kalman has created many beautiful illustrations to go along with 83 easy-to-follow food-related rules.

Flipping through the pages and the rules, it’s hard to pick a favorite but here’s a good one (and a reminder for myself as I type this at my dining room table):

(Yes, I am totally guilty of this rule right now… whoops!)

A few other favorites:

1. Don’t eat breakfast cereals that change the color of the milk.
2. Avoid foods that are pretending to be something they are not.
3. When you eat real food, you don’t need rules.

Have you been looking for a down-to-earth approach to eating? Have you been trying to eat healthier but not sure how to stay away from a “fad diet”? Maybe you fear that diet = torture? Read Food Rules. It’s a quick and easy read with very straight-forward tips on better, healthier eating. It’s eating, how it should be.

Happy Monday everyone!

2 thoughts on “The Food Yogi’s Favorite Food Book

Join the Conversation!

