New Study on Organic Food

I just wanted to take a few moments and share this article I was alerted to this morning: Stanford Scientists Cast Doubt on Advantages of Organic Meat and Produce (via New York Times).  (I also just tweeted the link)

Here’s the beginning of the article to start you off:

Stanford University scientists have weighed in on the “maybe not” side of the debate after an extensive examination of four decades of research comparing organic and conventional foods.

They concluded that fruits and vegetables labeled organic were, on average, no more nutritious than their conventional counterparts, which tend to be far less expensive. Nor were they any less likely to be contaminated by dangerous bacteria like E. coli.

The researchers also found no obvious health advantages to organic meats…..

At first glance, my initial reaction was that this article could dissuade people from continuing to buy organic food.  The title alone could make someone on the fence with organic food think that it’s all the same, so what’s the point?  But the article goes on to talk about pesticide residue which is what is important.  The nutritional content of a piece of fruit is all the same.  An apple, is an apple, is an apple.  Organic or non-organic, the apple still contains the same vitamins.  That’s what this study pretty much proved.  There is no better nutritional content in an organic apple versus a non-organic apple, for example.  Duh.

The point is that non-organic meat and produce are grown using pesticides and antibiotics and whatever else, which could be harmful to our health in the long run.  That’s enough for me to keep purchasing organic meat and produce.  With the influx in the rate of cancer and other the diseases, one in particular comes to mind that I am learning about right now in Microbio, complete-drug resistant tuberculosis, makes me wonder if the antibiotics in our food have something to do with these modern diseases that are becoming so much more prevalent and incurable?

Anyway, that’s my insight for the day, back to studying Microbiology.  What do you all think about this?  Please discuss. Hope you’re having a nice day! 🙂

(photo: Jim Wilson, The New York Times)

4 thoughts on “New Study on Organic Food

  1. I agree. It’s still better to try and decrease our intake of pesticides as much as possible..regardless if we really know what’s happening to our food or not. I always say that by buying organic at least we are TRYING to be better to our bodies…. I am still skeptical of EVERYTHING we buy in this country, but for peace of mind I choose to believe organics are better for my tummy 🙂 thank you for sharing!

  2. I’m so glad you summarized this article for me. I saw it in my news feed, but haven’t had time to read it. You are completely correct. The pesticides are what matters and what are harmful. Although I like to buy inexpensive as much as the next person, buying organic gives me peace of mind. Thanks for sharing!

Join the Conversation!

