I Want To Go To Foodie Camp

My friend Jeanette has been one of my besties since we were in elementary school.  We share a lot of crazy, fun memories.  Some of those memories were at summer camp together. Though, our summer camp experience was a day-camp at a local university in Long Island, NY, not the sleep-away, in the woods experience.

I remember the food that was served for lunch.  It was usually an incredibly greasy grilled cheese, or a dried up hamburger (I don’t even know if they used actual meat) and tater tots.  That was the first time I ever ate tater tots.  It was also the first and only time I ate rattle snake.  And yes, it tastes like chicken.

So, it was not surprising when Jeanette shared with me this recent New York Times article entitled “At Camp, It’s Not Grub, It’s Cuisine”.  It brought me right back to our summer-camp days and the terrible food we shared.  Now, kids apparently eat “cuisine.”  I’m not going to lie, the article evoked a bit of jealousy over the food kids are eating at some summer camps.  For example,

“The meal’s animal protein was chicken, bought at the poultry farm down the road the day before, then roasted, shredded and reheated in a ginger-soy sauce with a cilantro purée. There was a salad bar with lettuces, couscous,tomatoes and cucumbers. (The lettuce, cilantro and bok choy had been picked that day by campers from Ballibay’s lush 10-bed vegetable garden.) Dessert: small bowls of local-peach crumble atop a puddle of cream.

Really? I’m salivating!  These are some lucky kids!

This article brings to light camps around the country, their counselors and campers, realizing the importance in healthy-eating.  Awesome!

No more grub!   No more grub!  Who wants to eat something that’s reminiscent of a worm anyway?

Children need to learn the importance of  healthy, local, whole foods versus processed, sugary, manufactured food products which has been the norm at all camps around the country.  Because most sleep-away camps last a few weeks, kids can learn and actually see where their food grows and have hands-on experience in preparing it.

I have always enjoyed food, I was not a picky eater but I was slightly apprehensive when it came to eating foods that I never tried.  The way I was able to try new foods was not having my parents around and peer pressure. Hence the rattle snake tasting.  If my parents were around and I didn’t want to eat something, I would let them know, mainly because there’s a level of comfortability.  I would assume that this similar for many, if not all children which is why expanding the palate through eating and developing good food habits while away at camp is a fantastic idea for children.  Let’s hope this catches on more!  (Mainly because I want to go there!)

That’s all for today folks.  I leave you with this good chuckle:

5 thoughts on “I Want To Go To Foodie Camp

  1. That’s so great that children are given such opportunities. And I do hope these things develop more!
    I never went to camp because we had such a restricted diet. We were macrobitotic and my mum refused to let us eat anywhere else but home. But we went to macrobiotic camps where everyone ate the same. I was absolutely traumatized by seaweed camp. We had to actually pick up sea weed and then there was some at every meal! I do love sushi now, but as an 11 yr old girl the last thing I wanted for diner was boiled Kombu and tofu haha

  2. Haha, I remember our camp days well! One thing to note, though, I’ll bet these camps cost a PRETTY penny to attend. Hopefully with the new school lunch regulations getting everyone used to finding price effective ways for kids to eat healthy, habits like this will be available even at less elite institutions.

Join the Conversation!

