Love Letter To My Body

Recently, one of my favorite yoga teachers, Nadya Andreeva (who teaches at Strala on Tuesday evenings at 7 PM) wrote this blog post about writing a love-letter to your body on her own blog, Spinach and Yoga.  She is also a wellness coach and offers a 40-day course  called “40 Days To Bliss“.   I love everything Nadya writes on her blog and this particular post about self love made me open my eyes to look at self-love differently.

As part of Nadya’s 40-day course she asks students to write a love letter to their bodies.  I have written, about self-love briefly, here on The Food Yogi Blog and also on the Strala Blog.  It is very important to love the body, nourish it with good food, respect it and don’t push it past its limits.  But have you reflected on what your body gives to you even after everything you put it through?  I slightly touched on this in an anatomical sense in Respect, Love, Nourish Repeat a few weeks ago.  But Nadya’s point is to think about cause and effect: “I do ____ to my body and in return, it gives me ____.”

The love letter posted on Nadya’s blog, written by one of her students really struck a chord.  Being grateful for everything life has given me is something I try to practice.  At first I thought it would be a little self-centered to write something like this on the internet, but I came to the realization that to be thankful for your body and your life is nothing to be ashamed of.  So I wrote a love letter to my body.

Dear body,

These past few years have been the beginning of something for us.  In changing my diet and giving you more nourishing foods and time to rest and de-stress, we have started to make a great team.  I couldn’t be happier and more thankful for you.

I know at times I can be hard on you; I can be critical and picky.  I’ve sprained your ankle countless times and broken your nose.  I have also stuffed some terrible food and drinks into you on several occasions in the past.  I truly apologize.  You taught me a lesson on how to treat you with respect and I vow to keep you from harm for the rest of our life.

For most of my life, you enabled me to pursue my passions.  You enabled me to sing, dance and act on stage.  Now, I continue to ask you to give me the opportunity to do what I love through practicing yoga.  Many times, while in class, I find myself in a pose and amazed at what you had to do to get me there.  It sounds cliche, but I wouldn’t be able to do it without you.

Thank you for giving me the opportunities and the inspiration to pursue what I love.I am so happy we’re stuck together and I look forward to our future together.  We have many happy days ahead, let’s make each day the best.

-Deborah

I feel like this is a work in progress.  I will probably update and change it as time goes by, or maybe even write a new one.  I encourage you all to write one to yourself; maybe keep it in a journal and add to it as time goes by.  Feel free to share it with others.  It’s definitely a nice practice to boost self-love and confidence and it’s not about being self-centered or conceited.

Love to you all and happy Tuesday!

5 thoughts on “Love Letter To My Body

  1. Pingback: Accept your Healthy Body | The Food Yogi

Join the Conversation!

