How does your BMI compare with the rest of the world?

Not that I care too much about numbers – especially when it comes to weight, I care about health over a number – but my friend, HealthyFrenchie posted a website on her blog last week and I found it fun and interesting so I wanted to share with you all.

The thing I find funny is that the page is entitled “Where Are  You on the Global Fat Scale?” And pictured next to the title is a group of  people starring angrily and disapprovingly back at you.  It’s as if they’re saying, “we know you’re overweight, shame on you.”  Is that “prejudging” necessary?  Yes, there’s a global health crisis but a group of random people looking at you like you’re about to die is not very positive.  I feel that it sends a negative message if you’re not a healthy weight.  If you’re not a healthy weight or you have issues with your weight, you need positivity in your life to help you overcome those issues, not sardonic stares.  Anyway – that’s my rant – I’m posting this here just for fun.

The website is a BMI calculator, determined by:

“Using UN data on population size in 177 countries, together with estimates of global weight from the WHO and mean height from national health examination surveys the team were able to calculate average BMI figures for each country.”

(I took statistics last semester and I have a deep, deep, deep respect for those who can sit around and figure these things out.  In fact, I bow to them.)

When you enter your age, height and weight, your BMI will be determined (though by entering just this small amount of personal information there is room for error – a very muscular athlete, a weight-lifter,   Michael Phelps or someone amazing like him could be considered obese just by using height and weight – so please keep that in mind) and it will tell you where you match up in comparison to 177 other countries.

I am most comparable to a female aged 15-29 in East Timor.  Pretty cool and interesting to know, huh?  I am a little ashamed to say I had to look up where East Timor is located.  It’s actually in Indonesia!  You learn something new every day!  Maybe I’ll go there on my next vacation?

So, for a bit of interesting fun, check it out and tell me what you wind up with. 🙂

Happy Tuesday!

PS – thank you all so much for all your cleansing ideas and advice!  I never expected so much of a response and it was great!!!  Keep ’em coming, if you have anything else you wish to share.  So far it seems that a juice cleanse would be a good option.

PPS – I want to thank a reader who recently brought to my attention that Michael Phelps is 194 pounds and 6’4″ tall.  While a quick Wikipedia search will confirm this information, that would indeed give Michael Phelps a BMI of 24 which puts him in the high end of “normal” weight range.  On a BMI scale, normal weight is considered between 18.5 – 24.9.  Michael Phelps is all muscle and obviously not obese.  The point is that muscle weighs more than fat and Michael Phelps is the ideal athlete, muscular in every way and quite tall. I’m a huge fan, if you haven’t noticed, which is why I used him as an example.  Also, there are some readers of mine who have eating disorders and issues pertaining to their bodies.  Mainly I wrote that Michael Phelps could be considered obese because of his muscle mass so that readers with poor body image might realize that a number on a scale doesn’t mean you are overweight or obese but healthy, considering the size of your body.  But thank you, reader, for your point of view.

9 thoughts on “How does your BMI compare with the rest of the world?

  1. I totally agree with you. I have a healthy BMI yet I still felt like the finger was pointed at me bcse I’m like somebody from Uruguay, not Vietnam or some African country…Kinda ridiculous on my part I know sigh
    It’s a bit of fun though

      • Yeah, I’m totally blaming those people on the picture lol I told the Scotsman about it and he said it’s because of the size of my ass haha As long as it’s in the healthy range anyway…

  2. Pingback: Accept your Healthy Body | The Food Yogi

  3. Michael Phelps has a bmi of 24 which is lower than 85% of Americans. You shouldn’t just say things. Know what you are talking about before you post. He is 6’4″ and 194 pounds.

    • I’m sorry for the scolding tone of my reply. I am 6′ 2″ tall. BMI charts are not as accurate for men of my height but that doesn’t matter. Two years ago I weighed 235 lbs. My BMI was 30 which is barely obese. Was I obese or only very over weight? It doesn’t matter because my weight was making me feel old at 49 years of age. I ate a mostly healthy diet but far too many calories. I started counting calories which led me to become more careful about how I used my calories. I ate more whole grain, more vegetables and less fat and simple sugars. I kept my protien intake fairly high to keep hunger at bay. I lost 60 lbs in 9 months. I then bought a bike and started riding a lot. My BMI is now 22 and many people say I look great while others say I’m too skinny. I have never felt this young or this strong. I just passed the 6,000 mile mark on my bike for the year and will probably finish with near 10k. Don’t let slight lnaccuracies mislead you from what matters. BMI or not, I was fat. People with huge amounts of muscle are not likely to be mislead by their BMI. The rest of us don’t need to kid ourselves into thinking that our situation is not that bad because muscle is heavier than fat. This is one of the hardest things a person can do and excuses are killers, literally.

      • very true point you make thats is why one has to check his body fat content as well as bmi to get a more acurate reading into ones health.. and not be put off by bmi as you might be health with or over weight with in yout bmi reading

Join the Conversation!

