Counting My Blessings and Meditation 4/6/12

Hi everyone!  This week was a short one for me with one less day of work!  It was quiet in the office which made it nice for everyone. So I was able to sit quietly, focus on breathing and turn my mind inward.  I’ve always loved to meditate, it was actually easier as a child and teenager.  But once I became an adult with adult worries and issues, it became harder to tune out the noise in my head.  My sister-in-law also practices yoga and she’s mentioned that she would like to have note pad to write down her thoughts and grocery lists while she’s lying in savasana.  I think we can all relate to this at one point or another.  Sometimes meditation comes easily and other times it’s hard.  But it’s a constant practice and it will eventually become easier to shut out the world, focus inward and just be.  Meditation is great for inspiration, provides energy and creates a bond between the mind and the body.

Also, the highlight of the week is that my “yoga guide,” Tara Stiles released her second book, Yoga Cures on Tuesday.  The iBook launch was celebrated at the apple store in  SoHo, Manhattan on Tuesday.  Tara has a really down-to-earth approach to yoga.  Her goal is to make it accessible to everyone.  Even the “average Joe” who lives in the middle of nowhere.  Yoga can remedy many minor ailments and her book focuses on some simple yoga poses and routines that can help things like PMS and headaches, etc.  I strongly recommend getting a copy.  It’s available on Amazon and iTunes as well.

Anyway, over the major holidays it’s always nice to reflect, remember, appreciate loved ones.  So here is my list of gratitude for the week.

  1. My parents
  2. My grandmother
  3. My husband
  4. My in-laws
  5. My nieces and nephew
  6. The MegaMillions! Thank you for giving me an extra $10 this week!
  7. The Pennsylvania countryside
  8. Beautiful sunrises
  9. Vacation days
  10. My Banana Republic credit card 😉
  11. Modern technology
  12. Having the means to take a vacation!  Going to Puerto Rico at the end of the month!!  🙂  Anyone ever been?  Have any suggestions on where to stay and what to do?

That’s about it for now.  I hope you’re all doing well.  Off to lunch in Hershey!  

3 thoughts on “Counting My Blessings and Meditation 4/6/12

  1. Nate and I were there 2 months ago! We stayed at El Conquistador. There are about a dozen or so large resorts along the east/northest coast, It’s definitely worth it to shop the sales on all the different travel sites, prices change drastically from day to day/week to week/and what site you are looking at.

    I’ll be happy to talk to you in more detail about anything you want to know! We’ve got the scoop

  2. Pingback: Counting My Blessings 4/14/12 | The Food Yogi

Join the Conversation!

