No Meat – Day 42

Hi everyone!  As I mentioned in my last post, we had family visiting this weekend and it was busy, busy busy.  I didn’t get to write on my day 40 (Sunday) goal of no meat. So, here I am.  It’s now day 42 and I still have not had any meat.  I think I have found a good balance in my diet and I feel great.  I’m not saying that I’m not going to eat meat ever again.  There’s no doubt that a ham or some type of meat will make an appearance for Easter lunch on Sunday.  I just don’t want to lose this great feeling.  I almost afraid to eat meat now.  I don’t know how my body will react. 😉 …though, I’ll be able to report on that after this weekend.

I did, however, eat a little guacamole yesterday. It was an option I wanted to explore after 40 days of no guac.  It was great, but, I didn’t feel that I needed the guacamole on my burrito bowl.  I will be completely honest now. I love guacamole and in the past, I found myself thinking things like “oh, it’s bad weather out, I can add a little guacamole today.”  Or, “work has made me want to bang my head against the wall, I deserve a little guac.”  Even, “It’s Friday!  Why not order some guacamole!”  I wasn’t eating it every day but more often than the average person, for sure.  But now, I’ve gotten used to life without my guacamole “fix” and I think I have successfully broken a habit, or pattern, or mental addiction – whatever you choose to call it.   As good as guacamole is, it’s not necessary or order it every time that I eat at Chipotle or a restaurant that makes it table-side or has it on the menu for an appetizer.

Otherwise, still no chocolate.  I’m surprised at the amount of willpower and mental strength I’ve developed to stay away.  It’s pretty cool.

I’m working on some interesting postings coming up for this week.  Stay tuned.

Have you ever given up any type of food for a certain amount of time?  What happened when you put it back into your diet?  Leave a comment, let me know!  🙂

2 thoughts on “No Meat – Day 42

  1. I am a new follower, did you give up guacamole for lent? I can’t imagine giving up that beautiful green stuff. I adore avocados!

    I do a 30 day vegan “challenge” every year. I’m 3 days in right now. I usually keep a 80% vegetarian diet and I don’t drink cow’s milk. But I do eat cheese and eggs. Those are the challenge for me. The first time I did the challenge, I couldn’t wait to eat a bagel and cream cheese when I was finished. When I did, it just wasnt the same. I didn’t even like the cream cheese. It’s funny how our tastes change.

    Congratulations on 42 days! 🙂

    • Hi! Yes, I gave up guacamole, chocolate and meat for lent. The meat was more of an experiment since we’re supposed to fast from meat on Fridays during lent. I figured why not try it the whole time and see what happens.
      The avocados were hard! I love them too. They’re a great, healthy snack. I’m glad the 40 days are over now so I can eat them again.
      Good job on your vegan challenge! Vegan would be hard for me. I love cheese and eggs too. Eggs and dairy (Chobani, really) are a big part of my “no meat experiment.” I really admire people who stick to that diet. Maybe I’ll try it – like you do – for a certain amount of time, just to see.
      Congratulations to you on starting your challenge! Can’t wait to hear how it goes. 🙂

Join the Conversation!

