Lenten Practice – Halfway Update.

Wow, not eating meat, when you are a meat-eater, is hard.

I was at my parent’s house yesterday.  My mother had out a beautiful multi-colored bowl of M&M’s chocolate covered pretzels.  On top of that, she bought an abundance of Boars Head Brand cold cuts for lunch and slow cooked a pork roast for dinner.  All that was missing was a vat of homemade guacamole.  I felt like an AA member dragged into a bar.  Thanks Mom.  But, instead, I ate mozzarella and tomato salad with a little balsamic and olive oil for lunch (which is a favorite of mine so I didn’t feel that I was missing much) and the roasted potatoes with onion, red cabbage and salad (the sides for the pork).

After, I found myself shocked at the will power to abstain from these foods.  While it looked and smelled so delicious, and I wanted to try a piece of that slow cooked, tender pork, I just didn’t.  I’ve found that the desire is mostly mental.  My brain was saying “that smells good. Eat it!”  My body was saying “…egh…”  My body didn’t need to eat the meat.

Yoga teaches us to listen to our bodies and with this Lenten practice I started of not eating meat, chocolate or guacamole, I have been pushed to listen to my body more than ever before.  A few nights ago I practiced yoga at home to Deepak Chopra and Tara Stiles’ new DVD: Yoga Transformation.  On this DVD, there is a great meditation, guided by Deepak Chopra.  He puts emphasis on listening and being aware of your body.  And most importantly to ask “how hungry am I?”  It’s so helpful in getting through these 40 days.

Hope you are doing well and the weather is as nice as it in in NYC.  We are so lucky to have this weather right now.  Spring time, here we come!

PS – If you’ve been paying attention to my Tweets, class is going well and I am learning a lot.  I’ve become interested in Vitamin D and how it works in the body, especially needing the sun to activate it.  I’m doing research and drafting a new post.  Stay tuned.

One thought on “Lenten Practice – Halfway Update.

  1. Pingback: No Meat – Day 34 | The Food Yogi

Join the Conversation!

