Meditation Leads to Light Bulb Moments

Deepak Chopra has said “there is always one moment in childhood when the door opens and lets the future in.”  I just recently read this quote and it made me think about my childhood.  At a very young age, my mother asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up and I replied that I wanted to be a farmer.  I remember thinking it had to be an awesome life, being up with the early-morning sun, feeding the animals and milking the cows, tending to the crops – the typical old-fashioned farmer in over-alls.

Fast forward approximately 10 years to high school when I took that nation-wide career path test. Oddly enough, it told me to go into the science field.  I believe the wording may have been “scientist” or “chemist.”  I scoffed at this.  I also scoffed at the fact that at one time in my life I wanted to be a farmer.  At that point in my life I was going to be a Broadway actress.  Not to mention that science was one of my least favorite subjects.  My teacher was the female version of Ben Stein.  I kid you not.  I wish I could have gotten a recording of her saying “Bueller….Bueller….”  But I don’t think she had enough of a sense of humor to get the joke. Anyway… I do believe that the career test may have been onto something.

I lived through 3 years of “quarter-life crisis” in which mental anguish ensued and my every day thoughts were consumed with where my life was headed.  After practicing yoga regularly for a year and meditating, the answer to this mental anguish seemed to bubble up and smack me square on the forehead.  I remember thinking “why hadn’t I realized this before!?”  Finally the light bulb turned on.

At first, I thought that I wanted to study nutrition because I wanted to enlighten others with my practice of yoga and healthy eating to cure diseases.  Yes, of course this is my goal but I didn’t think it went any farther than that.  Then I read Deepak Chopra’s quote and thought about those childhood experiences and realized that between the ages of 4 and 14 the door opened and my subconscious heard the calling to my future career choice.  Think about it, when food and farming is combined with science, you get nutrition, dietetics, food science, etc.  The answer was obvious my whole life, I just had to sit still and listen.  The power of meditation is truly amazing.

Thank you to everyone who is supporting me on this next step in my life.  I love you all.

4 thoughts on “Meditation Leads to Light Bulb Moments

Join the Conversation!

