Steps To A Better-Balanced Life

Sometimes I feel as if my life is a vortex.  Each season revolves around a calendar year and before I know it, a new year has begun.  There’s so much to do, and so little time to do it.  My basic day consists of my job, practicing yoga, studying nutrition, having some quality time with my husband, writing and/or thinking about blog posts, Tweeting/Facebook-ing, keeping in touch with family and friends, keeping up to date with the latest in health, food and yoga developments, reading for enjoyment, and of course cooking, eating, cleaning and sleeping.  On top of this I try to have time for myself and a social life.

It’s overwhelming to say the least.  I know a lot of people feel this way, so I decided to research ways for me to lead a healthy, balanced life and share what I think may work best.

Start a regular sleep schedule: Go to bed early and wake up early.  This may be difficult.  My goal is to be in bed at 10:30 and my alarm is set for 6:30.  If it doesn’t happen right away, keep at it.  Eventually it might stick.  If not, try something else.

Schedule everything: It sounds regimented but sometimes that is just what you have to do.  I have created a calendar that allots time around my job to work on everything I need.  It puts me at ease knowing that there’s a time and a place for everything.  Make sure to schedule time for yourself, doing something you love. Give yourself things to look forward to on a daily and weekly basis.  For example, tonight I am going to enjoy a yoga class.  This weekend I am looking forward to a family member’s birthday party.

Multitask: This correlates with scheduling.  If it doesn’t stress you out, figure out a way to kill to birds with one stone.  To me, yoga is the ultimate alone time so I schedule my alone time with my yoga time.  (Don’t get me wrong, I love when friends come to class with me too! J)

Learn to say no: When spread too thin with social engagements, work and whatever else, tell yourself enough is enough and don’t feel bad about it.  Sometimes something has to give.

Don’t be afraid to ask for help: If there’s too much going on, ask someone to help.  In my case, my husband has to cook dinner 4 nights out of the week so that I can accomplish my goals.

Go with the flow: Remember that nothing always works out as planned.  Don’t beat yourself up if you have no choice but to work late, or your train makes you majorly late for something.  It’s not worth beating yourself up over.  Take it as it comes and keep going.

Leave some wiggle room: Schedule rearranging will undoubtedly happen.  If you leave a little wiggle room you will be free to squeeze a pop-up appointment or switch around timing.  Be flexible.  If you’re left with the wiggle room, don’t feel that you should be doing something productive.  Take a deep breath and enjoy the extra time.

Keep in mind that certain things don’t work for everyone.  These things work for me but just like with yoga, it’s a practice.  I’m not perfect and I don’t always adhere to these guidelines but I certainly try, for my own sanity.  Configure things to work for you.  Create a balance to make yourself happy.

Join the Conversation!

