Road Blocks

I have unfortunately fallen behind a little on my yoga practice and blogging and tweeting this week because over the past few days major figurative road blocks have appeared in my life in trying to register for my pre-requisite classes for my Master’s degree.  Every attempt that I made has failed, miserably.

I tried to put what has transpired over the past four days into a nutshell but its way too much for a blog post. Suffice it to say that I have had the most frustrating time of my life these past 4 days. I’ve cried and wanted to crawl back to my apartment and into bed several times. It’s now my hope that this is the hardest part and classes like organic chemistry will seem like a breeze in comparison.

I was able to practice yoga last night in my favorite Thursday class and even though it was nearly 100 degrees in NYC (an unintentional hot yoga class) it felt soooo good. I had a good release of endorphins and was able to relax, meditate, smile and have fun. I should have forced myself to practice a little throughout the whole ordeal earlier in the week, it definitely would have helped to clear my mind, but that’s why yoga is called a practice. I believe we never reach perfection; we are always students that are practicing and learning to work through figurative or literal road blocks. It’s up to us how we decide to cope with it. Next time, I will practice yoga and meditation to get me through the tough times.

When you have an important goal to accomplish and every door you open into achieving the goal slams in your face, what do you do? When life stops you at every angle, and figuratively puts up road blocks, what do you do? When life gives you lemons, do you make lemonade?

One thought on “Road Blocks

  1. Hang in there, dear! You are doing the right thing. Another insightful post. I especially like the part about yoga is called a practice. Keep your eye on the goal and soon it will be yours.

Join the Conversation!

