Coming to a healthier you!

Hi people out there!  This is my first blog post and I am super excited to share my journey to receive my Masters in Nutrition, become a Registered Dietitian and obtain my certification to teach yoga.  This is going to be a two/three year undertaking and if all goes well, I should reach my career goals and through yoga and nutrition be officially able to help people reach their dietary and physical needs/goals.

I have decided to follow this path because my grandmother was diagnosed with cancer earlier this year and passed away shortly after at the age of 93.  She was a huge part of my life, having lived upstairs from me and my parents since the day I was born.  We all thought it strange that suddenly a 93 year-old woman who was healthy and active suddenly became so sick.  Something inside me clicked and this became one of the most pivotal moments of my life.  Could the cancer she developed possibly be caused by the food that we eat?  I felt so compelled to investigate this more and this yearning (or maybe some divine intervention by my Grandma) led me to make one of the most definitive decisions of my life: to become a Registered Dietitian.  Just maybe there’s a correlation between nutritious, organic eating and the prevention of cancer, diabetes and other diseases, and if there is, I need to be riding that wave to help others.

I have been studying yoga regularly for over a year now but to fully comprehend my passion for yoga, we have to go back to when I was 13.  At 13, I decided that I wanted to practice but I didn’t have access to classes, so I bought a book.  It was a picture book of the poses that I could practice at home but high school got in the way of my practice, and then college.  After graduating college and moving back home to New York my life became a stress pot and I developed a stomach ulcer.  I decided it was time to practice yoga to destress and heal myself.  Two friends brought me to my first class.  It was a hot vinyasa class.  I’ve never sweated so much in my life. After, I felt so alive and invigorated!  I never felt that way in my life….ever!  I joked with my friends that they created a monster, but it’s partially true.  Now, I can’t imagine life without my practice.

I firmly believe that yoga and nutrition walk hand-in-hand.  Just as yoga aids in creating a strong body and mind connection, nutritious eating can do the same.  If you take a few extra minutes to be conscious of what you are ingesting, the effects of this healthy eating will show outside.  It is what is in us that shows on the outside, a maxim that has been true for a millennia.

I am  really looking forward to what my future holds and I thank you all in advance for your love and support.  Thanks for reading.

Until next time, eat and breathe.

Deborah, The Food Yogi

Join the Conversation!

